A Sweet Sad Soul Gift

This past year has easily been the most magical, soulful, unexpected and exciting of my (speaking only for Carnita but I think Brown Amy might agree) hithertoo rather magical soulful unexpected & exciting life.  All of you who have danced along to the records I’ve spun have fulfilled a dream i’ve had since I spent Sundays listening to Otis Redding with my Dad and Mary Wells with my Mom.

In an attempt to give thanks I want to offer up two of my most personal mixes to all of you to enjoy share and love for this coming year and the years to come.  While most of the records i’ve played in 2010 have been of the foot stomping, soul shaking variety, i’ve always had the deepest pits of my heart reserved for gut wrenching, heart churning female soul ballads.  These songs have gotten me through heartbreak after heartbreak and have always served to let me know that i’m not alone in my loneliness and that generations of strong women have been there, done that, poured themselves onto vinyl and persevered.

These two mixes have been in the works since I first moved to San Francisco and used these songs to get me through long distance disasters.  They have seen me through rainy nights in Portland yearning for the loved ones I missed in the Bay.  These songs have tugged at my soul as i’ve walked the streets of our city and the cities i took them to with headphones on and to this day they draw tears out of me that would otherwise stay detrimentally inside.

While the holidays are time for celebrations, the cold, the rain, the snow all make for the perfect accompaniment to enjoy the depths of our hearts deepest longings for love’s lost and give us hope for the love we all deserve tomorrow and in the years and lifetimes to follow.  Happy Holidays and thank you all again for seeing me from soulful tears alone into my room to soulful dancefloor bliss.

oxo – Carnita

Don’t Cry In Yr Christmas Pie

http://www.mediafire.com/?3477g4a9d95xogo

  1. Clydie King – The Thrill Is Gone
  2. PP Arnold – The First Cut Is The Deepest
  3. Della Humphrey – Don’t Make The Good Girls Go Bad
  4. Irma Thomas – Wish Someone Would Care
  5. Ike & Tina Turner – All I Could Do Was Cry
  6. Denita James – I Have Feelings Too
  7. Erma Franklin – Ev’rytime We Say Goodbye
  8. Maxine Brown – Ask Me
  9. Irma Thomas – The Hurt’s All Gone
  10. Bettye LaVette – Cry Me A River (Take 1)
  11. Thelma Jones – Gotta Find A Way
  12. The Crystals – He Hit Me (And It Felt Like A Kiss)
  13. Etta James – I’d Rather Go Blind
  14. Betty Wright – Girls Can’t Do What The Guys Do
  15. Ruby Winters – I Don’t Want To Cry
  16. Tina Turner – I’ve Been Loving You Too Long
  17. Wendy Rene – After Laughter (Comes Tears)
  18. Bessie Banks – Go Now
  19. Thelma Jones – I Won’t Give Up My Man
  20. Helene Smith – Pain In My Heart

No Tears In Yr Holiday Beers

http://www.mediafire.com/?b6khnbnjznetfpc

  1. Jean Wells – Have A Little Mercy
  2. Erma Franklin – Each Night I Cry
  3. Ike & Tina Turner – Give Me Your Love
  4. Anna King – Make Up Your Mind
  5. Betty Wright – He’s Bad Bad Bad
  6. Wendy Rene – Gone For Good
  7. Thelma Jones – Oh, Oh, Here Comes The Heartbreak
  8. Maxine Brown – Yesterday’s Kisses
  9. Irma Thomas – Ruler Of My Heart
  10. Jean Wells – If You’ve Ever Loved Some One
  11. Nella Dodds – You Don’t Love Me Anymore
  12. Debra Lewis – What You Gonna Do
  13. Carla Thomas – I Can’t Stay
  14. Wendy Rene – I Wish I Were That Girl
  15. Gladys Knight & The Pips – It Should Have Been Me
  16. Bettye LaVette – Nearer To You
  17. Peggy Scott – Every Little Bit Hurts
  18. Irma Thomas – I’m Gonna Cry ‘Til My Tears Run Dry
  19. Maxine Brown – All In My Mind
  20. Bettye LaVette – Let Me Down Easy
~ by realnittygritty on December 8, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
